Initial Researches/ Leyla Sailor

Following my second tutorial with Dave and our discussion about my possible ideas,he has confirmed that creating a video or animation as a final project wont be a problem and I could do that.
I asked him if he knows artists or resources related to my ideas,and he send me a few contemporary artists.
One of them was Layla Sailor. She is a Manchester based artist.After completing a degree in photography she has continued to combine commercial Fashion photography with Fine Art and Filmmaking.
Inspired by cinematography and religious iconography, Layla creates hyper-realistic, dreamlike works that reference traditional crafts, sexuality and politics.
The harmony of vibrant colours and music are the most alluring icons in her work. I like her photographs and films but just enjoyed her talent and creativity but there wasn’t something related to what I’m looking for and no inspiration.
Here is a few of her photographs and the link of her films.

http://www.laylasailor.com/motion/
1

DSC_0004-3_ppaa

freya big

marthablue

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 12.44.25

Leave a comment