Photo printing services and my final decision!

Well this is probably my last blog post before the deadline which is tomorrow afternoon.(Friday-29May)
Yesterday I went to see my tutors to confirm and choose my final photos and also discuss about the available printing services in Manchester and also the papers that are more suitable for exhibition. Eventually I decided to print my photos on foam which is quite easy to hang and it is more modern and artistic look rather than framing photos. Also there is a usually problem with storing the frames after the exhibition. I have lots of different types of frame with different sizes that none of them are suitable for the next project or exhibition! Also our venue has surrounded by massive windows and there might be a problem with light reflection on the frame glasses during the day! Therefore with all these in mind I think printing on the foam is a good choice. I had a quick research on the print companies. Well DS LABS is one of the famous ones within Manchester(and vicinity) which is quite commercial and the paper that they are offering is more suitable for businesses as I usually use their service for my clients. However the mounted prints in DS are too expensive specially in large sizes.
Capture5
Also I’ve heard about the Dean Print which is local too and Studio 50( not too close-35 mins driving). It seems they are quite professional but the only criticism of their service is they don’t have price list and the list of the products that they are offering.There is no useful information on the website unless you email them what you want and they will send you a quote. However I tried to get a quote and the information that I needed a few days ago but unfortunately they didn’t respond yet it seems better to travel and find out about their service,which is not convenient.
So I had a discussion with my tutors and they suggested to buy museum paper from Calumet and then bring the paper in and use the new professional printer that has recently provided in college for students with a very reasonable price or even I can use their own paper which is a good quality matt paper.So I thought that is really good deal with less hassle that can saves me a lot of time.Now Im just going to buy some self adhesive mount/foam then I would arrange a time with my tutor to sort out the prints and then will have one more week to mount the photos and stick on the foam.
Yaaaaaaay I’m almost done….!!!

Leave a comment