Updated Statement Of Intent

As part of our Pitch Project which was started from the beginning of this semester we wrote a Statement Of Intent to pitch our final project and that SOI has to updated regularly and then submit it as part of our Final Major Project.
I tried to keep it updated and if anything has changed and its not as it was planned in the SOI I add the new changes there.
Here is the first paragraph of my final Statement Of Intent as I would submit the original copy of my SOI via turn it in program and on a disk as well.
(I divided into 4 section by asking 4 important questions: 1-What? 2-Why? 3-How? 4-When?

What?
The aim of this project was to explore the cultural identity of women, living in the Eastern world and the effect on women in Iranian society in particular.
Within this project I tried to create a series of photographs that indicates my concerns throughout my life. Concerns that have been hidden, until now; concerns I never had the courage to explore my mental wounds they have left behind.
I decided to talk about my personal concerns that the majority of Iranian women have experience these issues that are rooted in culture barriers, but women have learnt not talk about it!
Now here I have broken the unwritten rules, whereas society taught me not to speak of my wounds, yet in order to heal I need to be able to open up.
Why?
I use to be writer, I use to be a painter and today I am a photographer, but when I review my life I feel that I’ve never been a successful artist, because I always frightened and never talked about my inner feeling. Showing the latent wounds always been such a massive taboo.
Today I feel I’m overflowing of untold/secret thoughts. I am anxiously beg myself to reveal all those things that has always been a mystery. It seems that I and my woes are living together and have a symbiotic life.
Now I am mature enough to understand all effective people in the world have been brave. They forget their fears and have had their own words. Therefore I decided to be myself.
This series of work and all researches behind it will lead me toward the main thing that I have always expected from my artwork.
My initial Inspiration was a painting of Rene Magritte which called The Lovers, thereafter and Iranian female artist Gohar Dashti who has a closer aspect with my idea.
I started my own experimentation and used my unique symbol, which is Persian Calligraphy and I’ve tried double exposure and played with layers in Photoshop But the results weren’t what I wanted. I tend to produce something visually creative. While everything in the photos seem quite normal but shocked the spectators by the meaning of whole series in the last photo and that was the raw idea behind this project.
I intend to continue exploring in order to produce a body of work with the aim of breaking a taboo in Eastern society. Firstly educate myself and then hopefully other women to reveal their own uniqueness in their everyday lives.

Leave a comment